Our People

SAMA employs highly trained and qualified staff committed to a quality assessment system based on sound principles and universal standards.

Back to top

Board of Directors

SAMA has a seven-member Board of Directors, which includes three representatives from the provincial government and two elected representatives from each of the rural and urban sectors.

Representation on the SAMA Board of Directors is based on the principle that local governments, which depend on property tax for their principal source of revenue, should have a voice in how the property tax system is administered.

L to R: Al Heron, Jim Angus, Audrey Trombley, Myron Knafelc (Chair) Dawn Luhning, Murray Purcell, John Wagner

Myron Knafelc, Chair, Province
Al Heron, Urban Sector
Dawn Luhning, Urban Sector
Murray Purcell, Rural Sector
John Wagner, Rural Sector
Audrey Trombley, Province
Jim Angus, Province

Executive Team

L to R: Gord Senz, Betty Rogers, Mathew Ratch, Irwin Blank, Todd Treslan, Corinne Charko (Executive Secretary), Shaun Cooney
Irwin Blank, Chief Executive Officer
Mathew Ratch, Managing Director of Finance
Todd Treslan, Managing Director of Assessment Services
Betty Rogers, Managing Director of Administration
Gordon Senz, Managing Director of Quality Assurance
Shaun Cooney, Managing Director of Technical Standards and Policy


SAMA delivers services through the Agency’s five divisions. These divisions are responsible for providing assessment services for our client municipalities, developing assessment policy, providing audit and roll confirmation services, and maintaining computer systems.

Advisory Committees

In accordance with The Assessment Management Agency Act, the Saskatchewan Assessment Management Agency maintains a number of advisory committees to:
- review policies and practices respecting assessment; and
- make recommendations to the board concerning these policies and practices.